Participation organs

The Radboud University has student government organizations on several levels in the organization of the university. The Programme Committees (OLC’s: 'Opleidingscommissies') have a say in decisions involving the different study programmes, the Faculty Student Council of the Science Faculty (FSR: 'Facultaire Studentenraad') meets with the board of the faculty and influences the decisions that involve faculty-wide matters. At the highest level is the University Student Council (USR: 'Universitaire Studentenraad'), which meets with the executive board and they have voice in university-wide decisions. All these participation bodies require active input from the students. It is important for you to know who to approach and how. Below you will find an overview of all participation councils.

Programme committees (PCs)

There are three relevant PCs for Sigma members: those for Molecular Life Sciences, Science and Chemistry. These three PCs oversee the quality of their respective study programme. They do this for instance by evaluating the courses through surveys and teacher evaluations. With the information they get this way they grade the quality of the education. This feedback is then relayed to the Education Institute for Molecular Sciences, the teachers and the students, which ensures that the quality of education is maintained at the required level. Changes to the curriculum that are specific to the studies are also discussed with the PCs, who advise on this matter. Think, for example, about removing or merging courses. For all your questions, remarks, complaints or suggestions related to the study you can contact the PC of your study. They welcome your input.   

If you want to find all the information on PCs you can click here

PC Chemistry

Chair: Ernst van Eck

Secretary: Maartje Leenders

Staff members: Hans Elemans, Peter Korevaar and Simona Cristescu

Student members: Joska Ter Steeg, Dharav Chitania, Martijn Arnoud Dingemans, Anouk Fransen



Assesor Chemistry:  Lieke Gieling


PC Molecular Life Sciences

Chair: Thomas Boltje

Secretary: Maartje Leenders

Staff members: Ger Pruijn, Alessandra Cambi

Student members: Joyce van de Ven, Merijn Koot, Tieke Kuijpers

Assessor MLS:  Marieke van der Maden


PC Science

Chair: Hugo Meekes

Secretary: Luc-Jan Laarhoven

Staff members: Joost Bakker, Janny Peters, Hans Engelkamp

Student members: Daniël Bijker, Mara Bosman, Saskia Pieters, Julian de Lange



Assessor: ​Melanie van der Vegt


Faculty Student Council (FSC)

The Science faculty has it's own student government body which has a say in matters concerning our faculty. This might for instance entail an expansion of the computer work areas, changes in the opening hours of the Huygens building or faculty-wide changes regarding education. The FSC welcomes all your suggestions concerning our faculty. Do you think there should be more space to park your bicycle? Do you think the lines for the student help desk are too long? The FSC tries to get a grip on all the injustices and problems so we remain the best faculty of the university!

FSC Faculty of Science

Hamzah Al Zubi, Chair

Joëlle Schrijer, Vice Chair

Caroline Bauer, Secretary

Jorrit de Boer, Treasurer

Göksu Kenanoglu, Commissioner Internal Affairs

Iya Sasse Ruth Nyaba, Commissioner Education

Assessor Faculty of Science:

Michiel Maij

Left to right: Iya, Jorrit, Joelle, Hamzah, Caroline, Göksu, Michiel
Student Assessor

University Student Council (USC)
The USC concerns itself with university-wide policy. This varies from investments in real estate to career orientation to the binding study advice (BSA). These forms of policy are independent of the indiviual study programmes and concern all students of the Radboud University. The USC advises the University Board regarding decisions that involve the students and the employees of the university. A sample of achievements of the USC: the university campus got its own SSHN-complex (Sterrenbosch), there are grants available for students who occupy a board function in a student organisation, the University Library is open on Saturday and Sunday and there is WiFi available everywhere on the university campus. The USC consists of eight chosen members from student's parties (AKKUraatd, ASAP and De Vrije Student) and six members that are put forward by the different umbrella organisations.

USC 2021-2022

Franka Noordam (CODC)
Isabelle Kik (AKKUraatd)
Laura Lensink (NSSR)
Luanne Dussel (AKKUraatd)
Marie-Sophie Simon (asap)
Matthijs Sparreboom (SOFv)
Nathalie van der Zande (asap)
Niels Goossens (BOS)
Richard Spithoff (CSN)
Rizka Simons (asap)
Roel Veenstra (AKKUraatd)
Romy Bardoel (ISON)
Seray van Montfort (asap)
Zino Duckers (AKKUraatd)

Visit this site for more information about the current USR

Visiting adress: Thomas van Aquinostraat 3